Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A visit to the pond

I decided to take Xena to Black Pond today, which is a very large pond with a gradual entrance into the water, so it is an easy place to learn to swim. She had the experience of seeing ducks for the first time, and also saw fish just below the surface. She was very hesitant - see the extras 3.) ooh, this looks like a cool place for some fun 2.) I think I will give it a go 3.) No chance, I'm not going in that cold water!

Later three black labs arrived who dived into the water and had great fun splashing about. She tried to follow them but only went in up to her 'knees' - she had great fun playing with them on the muddy shore and was absolutely filthy after that, as was I. Note to self - do not wear nice jeans on a dog walk near water, rather wear old joggers or waterproof hiking trousers. .When I got home I bathed her and had to wash her collar again. As this breed has no undercoat, she feels the cold and was shivering after being wet - but she soon warmed up in the sunshine.

Other than that it has been the usual domestic chores and no time for anything else. I went and bought some things that Luke will need when he moves into his new accommodation on the weekend, mainly cleaning materials!! 

Book club tonight, it will be lovely to catch up with everyone again.

Struggling to keep up with journals while things are so busy with everyone at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.