SPRINT WINNER - Cycle Tour of Britain

I had a really bad nights sleep due to cramp.  It started off in both feet then it was in both calves as well.  Could hardly move or else it HURT.  I just had to try and do a bit of massage and gentle stretching to try and ease it.  Finally I was able to get up and have a wander around before going back to bed.  Found it hard to settle back to sleep so today I have felt very weary.

The riders in the OVO Energy CycleTour of Britain set off from Gateshead this morning to make their way to Kendal.  Around 11.30am they passed through my village.  As the route was only 2 mins from my house I popped out to watch.  I was amazed to see how many police bikes there were on the route as well as ambulances, police cars and team cars with bikes on top. 

It was so exciting to see the riders whizz past.  It was all over in a moment but well worth seeing.  My blip shows Dutchman Dylan Van Baarle - the winner of the sprint -  and I have added a collage in my Extras showing a few of the other photos I took.

Musical link BICYCLE RACE by Queen

This afternoon I had a doctors appointment to discuss the itching I have been suffering with for over a year.  The doctor has tried me with all sorts of anti histamines and creams but nothing has really worked. So today she decided to go " off piste " ( her words ).  She wondered if I was getting overheated and this was causing the itching so ........ she has given me a course of Sertraline - an anti - depressant which is prescribed to woman going through the menopause to help with hot flushes. I'm willing to try anything.

The doc told me that after the blood test I had last Tuesday my potassium levels were OK and so was my blood pressure so I can continue on the lower dose of my blood pressure tablets.  She also asked if I wanted a flu jab - so I said yes.  Good to get that out of the way.

I popped to the chemists to get my prescription then it was back home to have a rest on the sofa.  I had recorded the cycling ( it was shown live on ITV4 ) so I watched some of that.  I even saw myself standing by the side of the road.

Not sure if I will get round to many comments this evening as I'm feeling very tired.

Steps today - 9,506

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.