Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Still life with apples

Today I worked on Module 3 of Kim Klassens class which was creating still life.  She has an ebook with advise and ideas with an article where she mentions walking around the house at different times of the day watching how the light comes in and what it illuminates.    I usually watch the light coming in my windows anyway but I decided to see what happens at the dining room window at the time the sun is straight up overhead which is around 2 pm.      

So I gathered up my props, my cast iron frying pan,   apples, a knife, the cinnamon, and a piece of thin cheesecloth I had.    I also moved one of the flowers from my grocery store bouquet to an old milk bottle I had.  I took about 70 photos of various layouts, angles, brightening, darkening, less items, more items.  I thought the light was okay..not the golden glow of morning light but good enough to show off the shine of the table and the items.   

This was one of my favorites of the whole thing.  Not great but I think it sort of tells the story, apples, knife, cinnamon and the pan.   

More practice and thinking on this. 
In the extra is another shot that I think works. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.