Holkham Hall Day One

A full on day with the other Education Managers and Learning Officers meeting for the annual forum, this year held at Holkham Hall.

As usual we started with lunch, then moved to a meeting room. We had all been allocated 30 minutes to talk about all we had done or experienced over the last year. As each subject prompted much discussion, we had only heard two houses some 2 hours later! a break then to experience a trailer tour through the farmland and further estate. I saw more pheasants than I knew existed! Thousands of young are brought in during spring, to grow into lovely adult birds ready to be shot! They grow sugar beet, barley, potatoes and wheat as the main crops and acres of planted fields are verged with six metre wide edges, all planted with wild flowers. A few remaining poppies can be seen in the picture. A great idea for the look, but also for sustaining many forms of wild life. I also saw my first Red Kite. From there we went into the Walled Garden and did one of the activities the children do when visiting with their school. I will be returning with the book mark made of fallen flower petals I collected!

From there we checked in at the Ancient Inn where we were all given fabulous rooms, bottom right of the collage. Dinner at the Victorian Inn was amazing, in fact I have booked it for Mr L’s birthday dinner later this week. Expensive, upmarket and I hope he appreciates it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.