Kosovo/20

Passing the cathedral at lunchtime I noticed a placard advertising “”Kosovo/20”. I called in very briefly to have a look - lots of stitching and embroidery, and a fascinating timeline. Not enough time (I was en-route to a meeting), so I’ll have to return for a closer look before the exhibition closes,

It’s too easy to forget the horrific detail of ethnic cleansing and genocide in the Balkans.

It’s 20 years since “Manchester Aid to Kosovo” was initiated, and dispossessed Kosovars arrived in Manchester. They have been heavily involved in rebuilding Kosovo since. Although the fact that Serbia and Russia (and others invluding China and Spain) do not recognise its independence must mean that the peace remains fragile.

There was one photographic exhibit, portraits of Kosovars overlain with text. I liked the cathedral window reflected in this tiny detail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.