Kipsie

By Kipsie

The fruits of my labours

Oh yes! Plump juicy corn kernels, the cob cut into chunks before cooking to go with tonight's dinner, along with homegrown runner beans & potatoes, & Mr Chinn's  pork sausages. I used to make my own when I lived in Thailand but no need now I'm back here in sunny Devon.

So earlier today I awoke to the faulty electrical problem. Sent a new sms at 6.40am so that J&V would know I as up and about if they wanted to get in touch with me. They're holidaying in Cyprus. Made a coffee, by boiling water in a pan on the electric stove which was'nt affected by the fault. YUK! How can the water be so different heated in a pan. Lovely clear skies, it's going to be a nice sunny day. Read another few chapters of my book. Breakfast,  took Millie for our morning walk, Joe rang when I was half way round .. Had I switched off the power to the washing machine & pond pump located under the sink in the utility room?. No! The pond pump could be the problem as we had quite a lot of rain yesterday. Millie & I continued our walk, I found some more hazelnuts, & some tiny what like wing feathers on the side of the path. Bright yellow flash & black.  Perfect subject matter for Tiny Tuesday. Click, click. Walked down beside Cockington Court, not a soul there yesterday morning, we had the whole area to ourselves, & this morning I passed 2 people. Where is everyone??
Back at the house, test the electrics, the pond pump was the problem. Cooker clock is flashing away but I can ignore that for now. Relief! Out for coffee this morning with cassiesmum & Nicky. It's cassiesmum 's birthday today, 21, I don't know how she does it. He he!! The sun was shining, warm enough to sit outside so we chose Torre Abbey Tea Rooms, not for the seating but for the best cake .... We were'nt disappointed. It was lovely to catch up with the maids. I think we covered just about everything ... I need to catch up on some blips. The trouble is by the time I get to do my blip it's nearly midnight so apologies for not responding very quickly to your comments & stars. I do appreciate the fact that you take time to read about my daily antics :).
Back to the house, Josie is coming by at 1pm, I just manage to find the postcode for here, postman had just delivered the mail, perfectly timed, so that she can find her way. Slight crossing of wires, I thought we were "doing" Artizan  Art Gallery, in Lucius Street Torquay, plus the "Pop up" Artizan Gallery in Fleet Walk where approximately 40  local artists work  would also be on display for the Devon Open Studios, Josie thought we were going to the Devon Guild of Craftsmen at Bovey Tracey to see a demonstration linked to the Devon Open Studios. Due to time we decided to drive down into Torquay, park, then visit the gallery in Lucius street, walking the seafront to Fleet Walk after. Some interesting work on display, techniques we were'nt familiar with, we agreed on some pieces, differed on others. I tend to like vibrant colours, Jos earthy tones. I do like abstract, Jos not. It's good that we have different tastes. What we did agree on were the very scrummy cakes in the patisserie window that we had to pass, well we could have crossed the road I guess, but where's the fun in that. We bought cakes. Fruit Danish pastries for later. Everything looked good, & the smell from the savoury pies & pasties. Oh my goodness! We burnt off quite a few calories walking the seafront, spent a good length of time in the Fleet street gallery, had a chat with the young guy who was manning the show. Asked him about some techniques that we were unsure of. Well worth a visit. Walked back along Rock Walk, the planting along this route is great, Big sculptural agave, ornamental grasses, gnarly trunked olive trees, & a mass of ground cover Phlomis russeliana.The soil mulched with cockle shells. Very effective. We bought a coffee & sat in the sunshine to eat our Danish pastries.

Back to base, Millie walkies first, then a bit of deadheading in the front garden, fed the koi carp, then it was cider o'clock. Dinner tonight as above. All those tiny kernels, gosh that corn on the cob was good.

Thanks to Jill Orme (JDO) for hosting this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.