Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Deer Field Sunrise

I went out first thing to photograph the deer, arriving well before sunrise.  I could see at least 20 deer at the far end of the field where I pulled up by the track that runs down the side of the field.

Again I used a circuitous route hoping to come out at the back of the field without disturbing the deer.  Unfortunately, as I came around the back of the field i heard an insistent barking from one of the 'guards'.  I heard movement in front of me but out of sight.  I had my doubt I would be lucky and as I came out on to the edge of the field it was empty of the herd.  

Luckily, I'd not only got the big lens, but also some wide angle options and the tripod.  Even as I wondered what to do, the clouds in the scene started to colour up.  I chose a convenient straw bale and set up for a few shots.

Technical: I've found the reverse graduated neutral density filters from Lee Filters really useful at this time of day.  The brightest part of the sky is always on the horizon.  On this occasion I used a 3 stop filter, correcting the shadow detail caused on the hedge line in post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.