Not looking

A quiet day, sorting a few things. Needing to establish a dialogue with the body corporate, although perhaps too late.

After sorting most things I went to Western Springs Lake with the Lumix. Tried valiantly to get a photo of swallows in flight. Only one was reasonable, and that was so small, that the noise  if I'd enlarged it would make it anything but okay.

Around the other side of the lake visitors to the park were throwing large quantities of bread to the birds, who sprinted from afar towards every human carrying anything. They did learn very quickly that a man with a camera wasn't a source of bread. 

There's a place on the western shore where a triangle of land juts into the lake, and there are rocks just out from the land. One Karuhiruhi (Pied shag) tends to use the rocks to stand on when drying its feathers. So it was this afternoon. At least I was looking at it. 

I have included as an extra, a screen shot from my iPad of the Guardian cryptic crossword puzzle I solved over breakfast. As I wasn't sure of the parsing of one of the answers, I went to the fifteen squared site and was shown this. I had not picked up the yellow squares until then. Very impressed with Philistine, the setter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.