Nature is Giving Us a Hint

Dear Diary,

The signs of autumn are all around.  Nature is dropping hints.  No frost yet but it will come one morning and a new season will begin.  I watched the 1966 film, A Man for All Seasons with Paul Schofield in the role of Sir Thomas More.  It won 6 academy awards including best picture.  I don't know why it has taken me so long to watch it.  Thomas More is my 13th great grandfather, which totally blew me away when I traced my mother's line back but what impressed me the most was what a principled and honest man he was.  He was executed rather than stray from those principles.  Where are the Thomas More's now?  It seems politicians of today have no moral compass at all.  It is about power not principle.  There are many quotes of his I love but this one seems appropriate for today...

By reason of gifts and bribes the offices be given to rich men, which should rather have been executed by wise men. - Thomas More

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.