Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Out in daylight

Look what we found snuffling about under the bamboo this afternoon.  I heard scrabbling in the undergrowth, and thought it was a blackbird, then I heard it scratching itself, and thought it was a cat - so decided to flush it out as our neighbour's cats have taken to sitting under our bird feeders.  W brought it food, and it tucked in with gusto, and seemed quite lively.  But …...

……..  it was definitely quite small and should not be out in daylight, so I rang PACT, where the lady on the end of the phone asked if it looked thin as well as small.  I felt unable to make that judgement - how can you tell if something that spiny is thin?

The upshot was "bring it in, as soon as possible, as our vet staff are going home soon".  It was a mere 20 miles, so I bundled the hog into the car and set off.  When I arrived, they agreed it was small, and apparently it is also thin, so (s)he is now being looked after and fattened up.  I left some money and said we are happy to have the hog back if/when it is fit for release. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.