Maybe The Last Time ...

... I don't know.

This little house in the trees is the lodge where Kate and Marty, Marian's sister and brother in law are staying this week. We went over this morning for coffee and a catch up then had to go home for some lunch and I need to get to the Cockhaven to set the gear and lights up for our gig tonight. Kate and Marty came over in the afternoon and so did Phoebe, Paul and the grands so we had a full house.

I had to get back to the Cockhaven for 7.30 although we weren't going on until 8.30. I just like to be there so I'm ready. It was an important gig for me, not only because we'd been working very hard getting a some new stuff prepared and rehearsing some guest singers to make the show different. Our female lead singer left us last month so I wanted to make things different so our audience would have something else to think about other than whether we're as good without Yvonne, hence the big changes. Also our bass guitarist and singer has chosen to leave after this gig. I've had Jim at my side on every gig I've done in the last twenty years bar maybe half a dozen, so he'll be a big miss for me. He's also a fundamental part of the band, bringing most of the PA, mixing our sound, helping to keep the arrangements straight and generally being a totally dependable band mate. 

As well as all that, the charity was a worthy cause set up by one of our new councillors who is going to cook a Christmas meal for all the single seniors in the village and had put a lot of effort into the evening. The hall was fully dressed for Christmas when we got there to set up, much to my surprise.

It was a total success, we did a great first set and then took a half hour break. Peter Head, our local DJ always does a great job and manages to fit in so well with whatever event he plays and kept the crowd bouyant during the break. We really lit up on the second set and our crowd was on the dance floor from start to finish. Our guest singers all did a fantastic job as I knew they would. At the end I did a big spiel about past members and Jim in particular which I fitted into an unrehearsed surprise  number, the Rolling Stones 'The Last Time', which seemed particularly apt for Jim and for all of us and then we went out with our usual rousing finale of 'Mustang Sally'. 

The last time? Maybe, I don't know.

(With apologies for misquotes to the Glimmer Twins)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.