Concrete

The pillars and the roadway are all made from concrete; tonnes and tonnes of the stuff. This photo was taken as I walked underneath the Newmarket viaduct on my way from the car service place back to where I could catch a bus to get to work. Then chose the wrong bus.

The Inner Loop bus route goes two ways from Newmarket, and I leapt onto the one going through Parnell, and therefore not past the hospital until it was nearly back to Newmarket. So I got out after only a couple of stops and walked through Auckland Domain. A pleasant and not particularly long walk. 

It was then that I realised that I had left my ID and swipe card at home. Fortunately S was taking her car to the same service centre, and I got her to call past and deliver me the means of easy movement through the unit.

Looking beyond the concrete of the viaduct structure, it is possible to see Ohinerangi (named Mount Hobson by the English colonialists). One of the about 50 volcanoes that make up the Auckland field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.