BEAUTIFUL ROSES

I mentioned that our driveway was being paved starting next week so Mr. HCB had the job of moving our two beautiful rose bushes from the front garden and decided to do it today.  However, before he could do that, I needed to prune them a little yesterday and whilst doing that found that there were lots of beautiful buds still waiting to open.

I have blipped roses from both these bushes before - the Queen of Sweden, a delicate shade of pink and Crocus Rose, which is a pale yellow, both of them David Austin roses.  I couldn’t bear to just throw the buds into the green bin or the compost heap, so carefully cut them and then put them into a vase on the windowsill.

Most of the buds opened overnight, so here they are and of course, I am enjoying them on the kitchen windowsill.  You couldn’t call me a florist, by any stretch of the imagination, in fact, I am more of a “plonker” - no rude comments, please - but thought that these would have looked good however they were arranged and at least they have given me pleasure and then they will be consigned to the compost heap to continue their work.

I had a lovely morning - went to the cinema with my sister to see Downton Abbey.  We went to the 11 a.m. showing - and it was "Cheap Tuesday" today, so the tickets were only £5 each, which was great.  The film was very enjoyable and for once, the cinema was full.  We went out for coffee afterwards and had a good chat about the present situation with Mum.  We both agreed that it might be a good idea to scale down our visits, although it’s more difficult for Karen, as she lives so close, but visiting every day is taking its toll.  We will try it and see what happens in the next week or so.

I’m sad that the roses won’t be blooming outside our kitchen window, but am hopeful that they will take root in the “holding” bed, then in the Spring they can be transferred to the large border so that we can still enjoy their beauty - and if they don’t survive, then we will buy new ones.

“One of the most tragic things I know 
     about human nature is that all of us 
          tend to put off living. 
We are all dreaming 
     of some magical rose garden 
          over the horizon 
               instead of enjoying the roses 
that are blooming outside our windows today.”
Dale Carnegie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.