ABSTRACT THURSDAY - SHADES OF...

…Mr and Mrs HCB!  

We are often encouraged to think “out of the box” so when I saw the theme for today’s Abstract Thursday challenge was “Shades of…” I thought of the “shades”  that we wear when it is very sunny also called by some “sunnies”.

So here you have Mr. HCB’s very upbeat shades with wrap-around sides, modelled on the right by Count Duckula and mine, that are pretty boring really, modelled on the left by Mr. Edward Bear.  However, I think they both fit the bill for the challenge.  I have just “tarted them up” a little in my Photoscape X app and think that they fit the challenge for today.  They could almost be a Silly Saturday Blip, but I’m working on something else for that - well, at least it keeps my brain active!

We are having a new bedroom carpet fitted later, so Mr. HCB is presently out in the garden doing a bit more “chipping away” of the cherry tree stump and then will come in and we will move the mattress and bed.  Of course, once that’s moved to another bedroom, I will clean the dust off the old carpet that has accumulated under the bed for goodness knows how long.  

Mr. HCB can’t understand why I have to do this, especially as once the carpet is removed and the men take it away, it will be consigned to a tip somewhere never to see the light of day again, but Lynn, our lovely neighbour understands.  She tried to tell Mr. HCB that it is a “woman thing” but he still shook his head in disbelief and said he will just let me “get on with it”!  Just as well really, because I will still do it even if he doesn’t see the point.

I found this quote and know for certain that this would be Mr. HCB’s maxim on housework:

“My theory on housework is, 
     if the item doesn't multiply, smell, catch fire,
          or block the refrigerator door, 
               let it be. 
No one else cares. 
     Why should you?” 
Erma Bombeck

P.S. Mr. HCB is delighted to report that he has finished the chipping away of the cherry tree stump - now what was the back border can be raked, ready for the gravel. Hooray!


P.P.S.  SHOCK HORROR! The carpet men came almost two hours before they were due - and I hadn't cleaned under where the bed had been - in fact when they arrived, we were sitting in the garden together enjoying a coffee!!  However, they were very kind and said they had seen worse! :-0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.