FLOWER FRIDAY X 22

I went for a wander around the garden this morning before we went out for the day and found lots of flowers still blooming, so decided to make a collage.  The rain earlier in the week has certainly done a lot of good.

From the top left, going across the collage - and all SOOC - they are:

Clematis Astra Nova and Passionflower - then the back of one of the beautiful pink Cosmos plants, grown from seed by Mr. HCB, Japanese Anemone from the garden of our friends, Russ and Lesley, a gorgeous little Pansy, again grown from seed then our Compassion Rose, which just blooms and blooms.

The bottom row is a cream incurve Chrysanthemum, another beautiful and delicate little Pansy, a Sweet Pea, another one grown from seed and finally another incurve Chrysanthemum.  

And that’s not all - there is another collage in as an extra with yet more flowers that are still blooming - as I said the rain certainly did a lot of good.  I was surprised when I was near Mr. HCB's contraption for his runner beans, to see that one of the nasturtium plants was almost at the top but many of them had lots of black fly on them, so they are doing their job by keeping them off the runner bean plants.  One of nature's little helpers!

I’m late doing my Blip because we then went out for the day - we didn’t want to go too far, so just went to Lechlade Garden Centre, where we had a coffee before we started - with a slice of bread pudding for Mr. HCB and a piece of flapjack for me - well, I couldn’t let him eat on his own, could I?  Then we had a good wander around, taking note of the different pots, because we will certainly want more for many of the plants Mr. HCB has been bringing on.  We then decided to have our lunch there - we both had beer battered cod and chips - so I won’t need to cook this evening, which is great.

What a lovely day and now as the sun is still shining, I think a sit in the garden with another cup of coffee would be a great idea.

Hope you all have a great weekend.

“The lesson I have thoroughly learnt, 
     and wish to pass on to others, 
          is to know the enduring happiness 
               that the love of a garden gives. ”
Gertrude Jekyll

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.