Chilling

Yes, a day of rest. Even if it had not been my original plan, circumstances required it.

I did not sleep so well, probably on account of the 3 hour time difference. Then it turned out to be a sunny 28⁰c in the middle of the day - a bit of a shock after early autumn winter in Scotland. 

I was expecting low 20s…

Highlights? 

I managed a couple of words in Georgian. Up to now I’ve relied on my schoolboy Russian, which works well with those old enough to be educated during the Soviet era. Old farts like me, in other words

A gentle wander around the Old Town watching other tourists getting hot, sweaty and grumpy as their guides marched them around from point to point. Once you know your way around, there are plenty quiet, shady places to enjoy just sitting and watching the world go by. The locals do it a lot. 

Lunch - local raspberries and grapes, plus churchkela - strings of walnuts coated with grape juice.  I may have also sneaked in a small khachapuri - the achma version with a filling of bean and walnut paste. It’s a bit like a vegan sausage roll.  

The food tour… oh gee. Three restaurants and a wine shop at the end. Fantastic food. Great wine. Super guide - Zura - who taught us a lot, “us” being 3 Czechs, a Canadian and Fatso from Scotland. 

The Blip is just a shot from Kala (Old Town) during my morning meander. The Extra is Zura explaining how to eat the Adjaruli version of khachapuri

Michal (in the middle) is thinking in Czech “… for f***’s sake, I’ve already eaten 4 courses…”. 

I know this because it’s what we all thought (except Zura, obviously). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.