Not as bad as Sunday

That's about the best thing I could say about today.  I took my car in to the Toyota dealership to get some overdue maintenance and a 30,000 mile check.  I knew that would cost me several hundred dollars, but it needed to be done.  I need to keep this car for the rest of my life.  Their shuttle driver took me home, after dropping off four other people all over Seattle- neighborhoods I'd never been in, ones I've been in once a long time ago and some I didn't know exist.  We must have covered at least 50 miles before finally ending up at my house an hour after setting off. 

The repair chief called to say that, while they'd done the work we'd agreed on, they had found that the cover of the timing chain was leaking oil and needed to be fixed.  The problem is, that costs $1950.  Together with the required maintenance and the tax, that comes to nearly $3000.  Need I say I don't have that on hand?

Since this is a ten hour job, they drove me to Enterprise RentaCar to get a loaner.  As is usual with that agency, they had no car suitable for a short person.  First they tried to get me into an SUV!  They finally provided a Ford model that, while small, is built for a very tall person. Even with cushions beneath and behind me, I can barely see past the windshield.  It is ridiculously peppy and stops as if i had slammed on the brakes.  With the weather we're having, I find it terrifying to drive, and the wheels shudder when moving onto a damp road.  It makes a low droning sound all the time the engine is on.  Everything about it feels cheap.  I never appreciated how solid and comfortable my Toyota is until I drove this.  I will never say anything bad about my car again.  About the only positive thing about this car is that, being a hatchback, it has a level trunk compartment that is much easier to slide my walker into than my own car.  

I drove the car home very carefully and suddenly realized that my garage door opener was still in my car!  So it was back to the dealership to pick it up, then home again.  And because my car won't be ready until tomorrow afternoon, I have to take the rental to my doctor appointment up in Edmonds tomorrow.  Fortunately I needn't go on the freeway to do that, but it's still worrisome.

That said, here is the heart of a sunflower for Tiny Tuesday, the flower itself in Extras.  I love being able to come home and share this with my Blip friends, knowing that you support me even if I always seem to be dealing with a problem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.