A Small Domestic Detail

Dear Diary,

I really enjoy doing photographs of small domestic details, like this one of the morning sun on my hand-made corn broom.  I bought this broom many years ago in Tamworth, NH from the man, The Bearcamp Broom Squire, who carefully and expertly fashions them using the best locally sourced broom corn and New Hampshire grown wood. I don't know if he still makes them but I am going to Tamworth on Saturday for a Harvest Festival at the Remick Farm so I will see if he is still at the Bennett Corner store.  I know that most people don't give a second thought to an ordinary broom but it is a pleasure to use this one.  It sweeps perfectly and feels so good in the hand.  I think, sometimes, a single object can be a bit of a self-portrait and this is one for me.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.