The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Prince Albert in a Can

A lazy Sunday for my wife and me. Church in the morning then a movie (Jack Reacher - it was good) followed by a meal at an Italian restaurant we like. The theater is new, designed to look as if it were set in a barn and is filled with antiques.
This particular display made me think of my grandfather who always smoked Prince Albert pipe tobacco. As a boy I'd work with him in the woods cutting and stacking firewood for the winter. Officially my job was to haul and pile the brush and limbs we trimmed when we felled a tree. In reality my most important job was finding where he had put down his pipe and tin of tobacco the last time we had taken a break. Once I had he would light up that old pipe, give a bit of a chuckle, and go back to telling me stories of his childhood in Scotland. It's one of my favorite memories.
...and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.