MikeWest

By MikeWest

Abundance

Approaching the meadow cautiously on a wonderfully calm evening with soft warm light, I could see the flower stems shaking about and on closer inspection I could see a goldfinch feeding.

It was tough because of the low light and I had to crank up the iso to get a sharp shot. On top of which I had to manoeuvre my position to get a clearer view, but she was constantly bobbing about pecking at the flower heads to loosen the seeds. And at 400mm it's easy to lose track of your subject and focus correctly.

It was quite a bountiful photography evening and I had a job to decide which image to choose. I eventually chose this one because I find bird photography challenging and was happy to get a half decent shot - and not on a feeder either!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.