Travelling in Style

After dinner was served I went to the bar for a drink before settling down to sleep and as it was after midnight I decided to take a photo of the bar for my Blip. However the steward offered to take my photo stood behind the bar.  I then got trapped there due to turbulence - well not trapped behind the bar, but I had to take a seat at the side and fasten a seat belt.  The air hostesses came and joined me so I chatted with them until it was ok for me to go back to my seat.

I folded my bed down and managed to have about three hours intermittent sleep which wasn’t bad, and when we landed in Dubai by the time we’d gone through security once again they were already getting ready to board our flight.

Alan took his seat in Business for this leg of the journey and I went in Economy but again I managed about 2-3 hours sleep.  We landed just after 7am, and were out quite quickly, our driver was waiting and we were home by 9am.

We unpacked, I did two loads of washing and then we went for a walk along the Undercliff walk to Molly’s where we had brunch.  It was nice and sunny but very windy - perfect for drying my washing but even though it was about 22 degrees we felt cold!  It was nice to get out and stretch our legs though and get some fresh air, plus if we’d have sat down we’d probably have fallen asleep.

This afternoon I went to the supermarket as we’d emptied the fridge before we went away, so there was nothing for dinner, but tonight we’ve been struggling to stay awake but will go to bed as late as we can and then hopefully we’ll get back into our time zone quite quickly.

Anyway, it’s Friday, hope you have a good weekend!

Update on Saturday morning  - I ended up spending 3.5 hours in A&E last night with a suspected DVT.  When I got off the plane my feet and ankles were swollen but I put it down to fluid, however as the day went on it didn’t go down and I was experiencing cramp in my toes and calf muscle, then I noticed a strange bruise at the side of my knee that I hadn’t seen earlier.  I phoned 111 for advice and they said I needed to go and get it checked out - not exactly how we wanted to spend Friday night but it was quite amusing seeing all the colourful people in A&E!  Anyway they examined me and did blood tests and everything came back clear, but said  it was good that I went in.  I was advised to sleep with my feet on a couple of pillows which will help the swelling which I did and it does seem to have gone down a lot this morning.        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.