In Which We Set Forth Into the Wilds

We've had a spectacular run of beautiful weather, and I was fortunate to have scheduled Thursday afternoon off. Wednesday evening, I packed up my camping gear in preparation for our trip, which would be our second backpack trip of September.

On Thursday, I took care of some work stuff in the morning while my husband, at home, packed our gear into the car. I met some girlfriends for lunch, and then I drove home; and within half an hour, my husband and I were headed for the woods of Sproul State Forest.

It seemed like a whirlwind trip, and fortunately for us, it was a short walk in. By late afternoon, I had my tent up and all of my gear in it airing out. We eventually had the moon as company, but until then, we put up several LED lanterns and, in a celebratory mood, I even decked my tent with blue Christmas lights!

Above is a photo of one of the side trails on our walk in. Let's let the soundtrack for this trip be from the film Into the Wild. Here is Setting Forth, by Eddie Vedder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.