Reading Town Hall

I had an appointment in Reading today so I went off on the train and spent pretty much the whole day there. It was a grey and drizzly day today but not particularly cold.

I walked by what is still called the Town Hall, but actually, it no longer is. Today it houses a concert hall and Reading Museum and a cafe restaurant. The church next door is St Laurence’s. The flowers were just amazing! I wish I could get my garden looking like that!

When our family moved to Reading in the early 70s, the main library was in this building. There was a big fight to keep this beautiful old building from being torn down years ago. I’m glad the fight was won as we have so few truly old beautiful buildings left in Reading.

After my appointment I treated myself to lunch and then met a friend at the cinema. We watched the new Downton Abbey movie. We both LOVED it! Last year when I was camping in Lacock I stumbled on the filming of certain scenes. (See my blips here and here). They were there in the village for 3 days and I was able to watch some of the action from afar. It was great to see those scenes in the final movie. Very exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.