Making plum crumble

Awake at 05:30. I mistakenly thought it was 06:30 which is the time I feel I can legitimately have a cup of tea. Well, I can legitimately have a cup of tea whenever I like and often do but I try not to be too eccentric. By the time I realised my mistake the kettle was on so I just indulged my tea habit and read the paper in bed for a while.

I wanted to get out early to beat the rain. Had a very good walk with Flora round the castle environs and the river, reaching home just before the drizzle started. I didn't like any of the photographs I took while I was out though.

Home for a minor baking session. Apple cake in the oven and plum crumble in the making. I'm aware of the need to cut back on sugar consumption and usually at least half the amount recipies suggest these days. My prescribable gluten free flour mix already has sugar, as well as all sorts of other 'stuff', added which is annoying and unnecessary.

My friend J along the road has invited me in for a bowl of soup at lunchtime. Our Borrow my Doggy pals are taking Flora out for a run at the rugby ground. Then my 5 month old grandson and his mum and dad are calling in for a cup of tea in the later afternoon. And in an unexpected turn of events Cameraman is coming home a few days earlier than planned and should be back by 10:00pm. I expect to be tucked up in bed by then. Not much of a welcome home but I'll leave him some plum crumble to eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.