Destination A&E

The day started so well.  The sun was shining and it was another lovely day.  TT headed off to work, as it was the University open day.  I went for a quick 5k run, and BB got himself ready for rugby.  I returned from my run, got the washing machine going and dropped BB at rugby.  It was then back home for a shower and back out to rugby.  As it was such a lovely morning and I had time, I walked down to school and dropped my contribution to the post-match food.  It was then out to the pitches.  I had trouble working out which game was BB’s, but a friend spotted me looking lost and attracted my attention.  The game had just started and she had been given the job of scoring.  We chatted, but watched and cheered on BB who was trying to break away to score a try.  We took our eyes off the game momentarily, only to then notice a man down.  We couldn’t’ work out who it was, nor whether it was one of our players or one of the opposition.  The match stopped.  We chatted, then one of our coaches (who was refereeing) came over to tell me it was BB who was down, and it wasn’t looking good.  Eeeeek!

He was flat out on the grass in a lot of distress and pain.  His arm was lying out, but not as it should be.  No one wanted to move him.  An ambulance was called.  The game was abandoned.  One of his coaches is in the military – and he was absolutely brilliant with him.  An off duty firefighter came over to help and he was also amazing with him.  Still no ambulance, we called again.  BB wasn’t a priority, so we just had to wait.  Eventually the ambulance called to suggest we take him to the minor injuries unit in North Berwick.  As they have no x-ray facilities, that didn’t seem like the best move.  So after a few phone calls we were off to A&E at the Royal Infirmary, where we were siphoned off to the minor injuries unit – where we spent the next five hours in and out of x-ray, while the orthopaedics chaps tried to manipulate the broken bone back into place.  BB was an absolute trooper.  It was stomach churning painful (and I was only a bystander), and he got through it on gas and air.

They’ve done what they can, but it may not be enough.  We’ll be called back in a few days for a further assessment, once the consultant views the x-rays.

Throughout all of this, I couldn’t get hold of TT, but he eventually picked up the missed calls and list of texts, and made it to the hospital just as we were getting ready to leave.

Poor BB was so stoic, but he cracked once we were home.  I had to pop out for more painkillers as I fear it may be a long night. His cast is in the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.