Monarch Sipping Sunshine

Fate put me on campus on Monday afternoon for a meeting. And as good fortune would have it, the building I was meeting in was a hop, skip, and a jump from the Arboretum. So guess where I went when I was done. Yes, straight over to visit the sunflowers and the lily pond!

The sunflowers have passed their prime, and they are going to seed, much to the delight of the goldfinches. The monarchs are also big fans of the sunflower patch, and I couldn't resist this shot of one who seemed to be sipping on pure sunshine.

I couldn't leave without a visit to the lily pond, for I sense its days are growing short. The lotus is done for good for the season, alas, but there are still plenty of lovely water lilies blooming there. You may see a shot of them in the extras.

Here's a song for a monarch sipping pure sunshine: the Beatles, with Good Day, Sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.