Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A smashing day - and not in a good way...

Last night I did enjoy the movie Downton Abbey although I did wonder why they bothered to make a movie and not just show it as a Christmas special on TV, it was just like another episode on TV. I do enjoy seeing the beautiful clothes and period settings.

I woke up to heavy rain this morning - it was raining so hard that Xena refused to go outside to do her business - I eventually went out with a large golf umbrella and she did a quick wee and dashed indoors again. It stopped and was bright and clear by mid morning so we went up to the woods. It is the first time we have had such a heavy rain since last winter and everything in the woods looked washed and free of dust. There were large puddles everywhere which Xena did not like and I did have to wipe her clean when we got home as she had some muddy water splashed up on her....such a princess!

I went grocery shopping and was annoyed to find that in their wisdom the council have allowed road works on both routes to the next village where all the shops are - one road was closed and the other had a one way traffic light with no workers present, and consequently long queues of traffic. 

The entire day it has either been raining heavily or the sun breaks through and we get some sunshine. I decided to take an indoor photo today of my beautiful lilies - I was just thinking they were such perfect lilies, they would look lovely in a photo. I had to move the vase near the window to get better light - then I moved the vase onto the padded piano stool to get some height and of course while I was taking photos it toppled over, my most favourite vase smashed and the lilies were all bedraggled with pollen everywhere. I was so upset about my vase as I have had it for so many years, I think a client gave it to me with flowers when Luke was born - it is very special and sentimental to me and it has survived many house moves and a journey across the seas - I was so upset I was shaking so much I could barely clean the mess up. So I had to take a photo of the other vase of flowers containing gladioli, as the lilies no longer looked good.

Gavin is out at a business dinner tonight so it is just Thomas and I for supper - I am about to go make a seafood risotto as it is his favourite. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.