Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

It's looking like autumn

Today is Gavin's birthday so he and I went out to breakfast to celebrate. Thomas was working again today at the cafe so could not join us. We had a lovely breakfast and then he went off to work, and I popped into the supermarket. Gavin arrived at work to find his office decorated with balloons and banners so that was a good surprise for him.

When I got home I took Xena to the woods for our usual walk. Due to the rain in the last few days the woods is suddenly looking autumnal, the colours seem more intense due to being damp I think. She had a jolly good play with a young cockerpoo and then another with a young Golden Retriever. Funny how dogs know who is young and willing to play and who is not interested - the older dogs just sniff her and walk on leaving her with that crestfallen look on her face as they walk on by, despite her eyes saying 'play with me, play with me!' She came home tired after those exuberant play sessions! An extra of her trying to work out where a squirrel had gone.

Tonight I will make Gavin a special supper for his birthday - cod wrapped in prosciutto with some veggies - my latest favourite veg is cavolo nero, I think it translates as 'black cabbage' but it looks more like Swiss shard leaves and is wonderfully green and healthy and great tasting too, especially if I wilt it with a tiny bit of sesame oil. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.