Myth or Fact

This is the only blip I took today and was a desperate attempt to put something in the can in a desert of photographic opportunity

Fortunately I rather like it and not only for the image on paper but the images in my mind of my old Singer treadle sewing machine that would sew with perfect tension through material like sheeting without giving me grief as my electric machine would eventually give me.

It also reminds me of the family tale that my great, great grandfather, who was a master tailor in Inverurie Aberdeenshire, was the first person in the town to have a Singer sewing machine. However since he was also said to have been a Lord Provost of the town and I can’t find any record of that fact, it is possible he was only one of many owners of Sewing Machines in Inverurie.

I took the blip in the entrance to the White Stuff shop in George Street wherein doth lie temptation for overindulgence in retail therapy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.