Kipsie

By Kipsie

What cunning camouflage ....

So as I was getting the whirligig washing line ready for the re washed, rinsed, & spun soggy laundry of yesterday, I took an executive decision to prune the Corkscrew Willow that I planted in April. It's romped away growing against the wall near the washing line but really needed a chop, hubby was against it. On close inspection I thought it had produced some furry catkins, on even closer inspection I could see that something had been munching the leaves, right back to the main veins. That furry catkin was in actual fact a Sawfly larva, what a cunning disguise. Well that was it...... where are my secateurs. Chop, chop, chop.  I cut all 8 plants back hard.  I found 3 large larvae, & loads of tiny critters on the prunings.  They went up to the allotment site a bit later in the day. This afternoon I thought I spotted a large caterpillar on my beautiful half standard willow, Salix gracilistyla 'Mount Aso'. Phew! Relief, it WAS a furry catkin. A bit out of season.
The photo from top left clockwise - a) the large larva, b) what they look like before they've stuffed themselves on my willow,  c) furry catkin on 'Mount Aso' looking very much like a hairy caterpillar, d) a close up of the chompers.

What else happened today ..  Went up the allotment after breakfast, the runner bean hazel stick support, had snapped and collapsed. Loads of runner beans ready for picking, the plants looked really healthy, I'm wondering if it's the liquid comfrey I've been feeding them. Propped the plants up with a plastic patio chair, stripped the beans off, then harvested all the borlotti beans. I'm not sure whether I should leave them on the plants or not but with all the rain forecast I thought they might just rot. 2 crops picked, next the corn cobs, 4 of those, nice and plump, more courgettes, the two Turk's Turban squash,  2 Jack o' Lantern pumpkin, and the first of the Mooli (white radish) which are great success. The slugs like them though. GRHHH! Brought that lot home, then down to Mum with some shopping, followed by a stop off at Bayz's house. He's sold up & moved out so told me to go and check out the planters & plants, take what I want. A potful of Agapanthus, a pink hydrangea, 2 planters of Nerines, 3 fruit bushes in pots, gooseberry,  & 2 raspberry, 3 neglected orchids,  plus a few empty planters. Loaded up we came back home. The fruit bushes dropped up at the allotment. I'll have room for them  on plot 28b when the sweetcorn plants come out.
Late lunch, then ironing while catching up with Celebrity Masterchef.
Prepare & start dinner while watching The Chase. Braised pigs cheek in cider tonight. Yummy!

Thanks to JDO for hosting Tiny Tuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.