Paregoric ≠ Paraphrase.

Which I'm about to do:-
"I wasn't looking, but somehow I found it."

Better yet - the Meeces had not been at it.
I've been in the shed again.

There's a bloke down town I've been offloading all the old home books onto, for sale; well the ones which are still un-moused anyway. 
Today I attacked another boxful and this popped up. I have NO idea which ancestor to blame. I never knew what either Mother's (Gran's) writing looked like, or even, for that matter, if she could write; I know she attended a "Dame's School" as I believe they were termed. Might even have been Grandad's, being town Clerk or similar, must check and Fire Brigade captain and Engine horse-catcher on account of living closest to their stables/field (?) I have NO idea. 
B T W  - Please ignore the spelling.
;¬)
(Free history lesson coming up)


Can you imagine popping into you local Chemists and asking for "a pennorth of laudanum please."
For the youngsters:-
"Laudanum is a tincture of opium containing approximately 10% powdered opium by weight (the equivalent of 1% morphine)."
I remember going into the corner sweetshop in Penrith, since extinct, and buying, if I have the name correct, "Army & Navy Pastils" with, it said, Paregoric flavour. 
More:-
"Paregoric
Paregoric, or camphorated tincture of opium, also known as tinctura opii camphorata, is a traditional patent remedy known for its antidiarrheal, antitussive, and analgesic properties."
When I sought "Paregoric sweets":- 
Which, it seems, are still on sale. Well the name if not the flavour.
But who's going to buy £50 of sweets for free delivery?

"Description:-
Army and Navy - The original liquorice boiled sweet that soothes away those long winter days. These are made by Paynes and are by far the best ones available. Another one for the liquorice lovers."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.