A day full of wildlife

Back blip Day 4
It was a very windy night , there’s nothing between us and the sea so it was whipping across the fields hitting the converted mill where we are staying. I quite liked the wildness though, with no trees to blow down and the wild sea to watch I was quite happy.
We braved the weather at lunchtime and went for a walk down the tracks.Lots of wheatears and meadow pipits around.A few rabbits ran along the track in front of us.Large flocks of birds filled the air above the monument but I could not see what they were, possibly lapwings.
After lunch the sun came out.Mike was not feeling too good and has a bad cough so I left him behind and went for another walk by myself.The wind had eased to just a breeze so I walked down to the cliff edge. I spent a while watching the gannets and fulmers flying so close to the waves that their wings looked like they touched the water. Something caught my eye and I turned to see a Stoat running across a little bridge that is part of the Mull Head Walk. Unfortunately they have become a pest , no predators to keep them in check.They will take eggs of the Hen Harriers and short eared owls that both nest on the ground amongst other ground nesting birds.They will also eat the Orkney Vole so they are great efforts to try to irradiate them so I will report it.
Walking back up the track I stopped to watch a hare.I had spotted it in the distance so just stood still as it got nearer and nearer. It ended up in the field of corn , jumping it’s way through.Lots more hares in the top field enjoying the sunshine.
Back to the mill and I looked out to see a commotion at the top of the field.The crows were not happy to see a female Hen harrier.I watched as it swooped down again and again, landing sometimes and then taking off. It then spotted the rabbit who ran for it’s life and got away.Not sure if it may have been too big for it to take anyway.Sorry not a sharp photo but something I have not witnessed before so wanted to record it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.