The Charity Book Stall

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #11

There was a lot of activity here today. The guy on the right was in a hurry but he still couldn't resist a quick peek to see what was on display - or he could perhaps have been eyeing up the woman on the left. There's a story here, but it's one we each have to make up for ourselves because the real one will be forever unknown. I'm really enjoying the challenge of plucking a little vignette from my short lunchtime walk around the square. I had no idea what I was doing when I first responded to Kendall's challenge but, for me, it has become about posting an image which encourages you out there to engage with life on this one street of mine. I realised today that I hadn't engaged with it at all before this project. The Market Square was merely a route which I sometimes used to get from A to B. It is so much more than that to me now.

In case you hadn't noticed, Kendall got a chance yesterday to meet Ursula K. LeGuin, the original inspiration of the One Street Project, and blipped her here. I have to admit that until recently I didn't even know that she was still alive and so active. I devoured her science fiction and fantasy as a young man and now feel like I want to revisit it and also read the more recent work that I've missed. I think it was after reading The Left Hand of Darkness that I first realised that you can grow your understanding of the world so much more from a novel than you ever can from a work of non-fiction. Would you agree with that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.