Holding back the excitement!

Well what a 24 hours!  The best news is welcome to Baby!!

Becky had her doctor's appointment yesterday and by teatime I was on tenterhooks to know the outcome when there was a phone call from Rob to tell us the doctor had decided to induce, two weeks before due date!

What followed was across the pond texting throughout the evening.  We had to be up at the crack of dawn as Tony was controlling the JIRCs individual race today, but there was no way I was going to sleep.  I was propped up in bed trying to focus on my book as the hourly progress messages came in.  I must have finally succumbed as at 05.14 the phone buzzed to say Baby had arrived!  6lb 3oz and both doing well - wowee!  I woke Grandad Tony and we went a little crazy until we tried for a final hour's sleep. 

I'd spent some time during the evening switching my flight to go out a week earlier so that's been quite interesting too, and then of course we had to switch from grandparent mode to orienteering mode for the remainder of the day!

It's been a filthy weather day and the youngsters did themselves proud managing in the conditions.  It certainly wasn't a day to have the camera out and I gave it up as a bad job after a couple of hundreds blips and retired to the car to wait for Tony to finish his controlling role.

Then it was off to Kingswood where we were all staying overnight for hot showers and food and, for me, an early night with thoughts of how life is going to be different from now on in....wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.