Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Found still life

Here is a still life found this morning in St John's in the Soke.  It's a lovely and distinctly quirky place and, being at least in part 12th century, it's the oldest parish church in Winchester.

I actually went in there to try out my new flash on the medieval wall paintings.  However, as soon as I saw this tucked into a corner I knew it would be my blip, so the rest will have to wait for another day.

The reason for the shells was - as I'm sure you know - because scallop shells have been the symbol for pilgrimage ever since those long journeys to the Galician coast and Santiago de Compostela.  However, pilgrims from Winchester naturally went to Canterbury and would have passed this church on their way out of the city.  In front of these shells there were 4 small ones laid out like footprints walking towards the big shell.  Very cute, I thought.

And that's kind of me for the day.  Have a happy evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.