When It Rains It Pours!

And pour it did! Thanks to storm Humberto I came home yesterday to a very drenched carpet in my conservatory (See yesterday’s blip).

I have been trying to dry it out today and to get the chipboard floor underneath dried out. Thankfully none of the furniture has been damaged except for one corner of one of my Billy bookcases. Nothing too valuable. But the water damage pretty much covers the whole of the centre of the room. I can’t even pull the carpet back far enough to dry out the floor underneath. .

After a very helpful conversation with my longstanding carpet cleaner I’ve decided to just tear out and dispose of the carpet. But that is a project for tomorrow with help from a neighbour.

As inconvenient as this is, in the big scheme of things this is such a little problem. So many people lost so much more than this before Humberto started his journey across the Atlantic. I’m very humbled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.