Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Monarch #2

When I went outside at daylight this morning I found the second monarch already emerged and hanging around while he dried off.   I think this is a male because it seems to have a solid black dot on the bottom of his wing. 

So glad I have baggies full of seeds for the butterfly weed so I can plant more for next summer.   I have trimmed the ones I have down to the ground hoping they will also come up next year. 

I am taking an online nature prompt photography class for October with Tracey Clark and the first prompt was a "statement piece" so I think I got the statement about how amazing nature is with this monarch.

Hope everyone has a good week.  We are still having summer here in South Carolina.  The forecast is for upper 90s (35C) until Friday and then Saturday we jump right into Fall with a predicted temperature of 75F(23C).     Last night some areas around us got rain but it never made it here.  We are now at almost two months without rain.     But it is not the first time and it won't be the last time our summer has held on for a long time!    And the lack of rain is something we deal with ever year at different times of the year.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.