Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Words of wisdom from Fred DeVito

I was in a local coffee shop this morning, meeting with some potential new clients, my outstretched arm reaching for the shortbread cookies when I was met with these words scrawled across the counter:

"If it doesn't challenge you, it doesn't change you." ~ Fred DeVito

Who of us hasn't been reminded of this before? I'll confess to admonishing my own two boys with these words, but I certainly didn't expect to come face to face with this notion while waiting for my Chai Tea Latté.

I think Fred DeVito's original intent was to inspire folks during their strenuous personal training or yoga sessions, but of course, it applies to any sort of challenge, big or small, physical, emotional or intellectual.

We all bear the burden of our personal challenges each and everyday. Sometimes I allow myself to wallow in self-pity (OK, maybe a little more than I ought to), and slogans such as this, while somewhat cliché, do provide some encouragement and support during a tough patch. Of course, the change that we witness from the challenge, may not necessarily be the change we wanted to see! Nevertheless, we continue to grow and evolve.

I think of Fred's words sometimes to console myself when muddling through sticky situations. It helps me believe that I am somehow becoming stronger, more focused, a bit smarter, and maybe, just maybe, a little better in some small degree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.