If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Water Hawthorn (Aponogeton distachyum)

A busy day one way and another.  Morning getting ready to take the caravan down to Bristol on Saturday which probably means I will not be posting blips for a few days.

Afternoon visiting Kanyl.  As usual I was wandering his garden as much as to see what was growing as to blip.  I was surprised to see a number of these Aponogetons in flower.  My only experience of Aponogetons is as a plant in tropical fish tanks not a pond plant.

This particular species is from the western cape area.  It is also known as Cape Pond Weed and waterblommetjie which I assume is its Afrikaans name.  Sadly it has naturalised in some parts of England, we have too many alien species in our flora and fauna at the moment. 

If you look carefully you will see lots of little flies on the stamens and stigma presumably feeding and pollinating at the same time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.