If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Robin (Erithacus rubecula)

I finished getting ready for our trip to Bristol by lunch time while Clickychick was in town.  During the afternoon we had an impromptu trip to "Melki".

The Larch Cottage Nurseries are always good for a blip and a coffee.  We had hardly stepped into the place when I spotted this Robin posing on top of the watering system.  A few shots and on we walked.  Many shots of flowers, autumn colour and the gardens later we went in for coffee.

When I came to review my shots I felt I had been a bit heavy on the flower shots of late so settled for this Robin.  A popular bird in the UK of no conservation concern.  Fossil evidence shows it has been present since the last ice age.  Not a long lived species the norm being 2 years and the record 8 years 4 months 30 days.

P.S.  I will probably be unable to blip for a few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.