If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Pig.

Sunday mornings always follow the same pattern I sleep as long as I can and Clickychick goes out.  Having seen the forecast I expected another day of rain but awoke to a nice sunny day.   Knowing my blip opportunities would be limited as Kanyl was coming over and knowing how much I like pigs she told me of some just along the road.

So off I wandered and sure enough there were three of varying ages.   This one the oldest and friendliest wander across for a chat.  Of all the animals I have kept over the years pigs are my favourite.  So intelligent and full of character.

If I was to try to identify the breed I would have to go for a Landrace (more likely a landrace hybrid) crossed with a Gloucester Old Spot.  Why?  There were odd black spots (eyes and left rear, side) the ears are typical landrace.   More likely a commercial hybrid which are often half Landrace had been put to a Gloucester spot boar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.