"Last but one."

This one was taken out of turn; for reasons which may become obvious upon the morrow.

Having just checked the passports I can now state we were there in '05&'06. I wasn't sure exactly which 2 years it was.

I went "down" with a group who were learning one of their SCUBA training stages. Instructor (as we weren't VERY deep) reckoned he could watch me if I didn't stray far. As it happens I ended up doing the same exercises as them, in between short trips to see some different fish.

Towards the end, the Instructor chap gave a "thumbs up".
To enlighten the uninitialed, this means go to surface.
Thumbs down therefore=obvious.

Some US idiots have culturally appropriated the "Are you OK / I am OK" sign and called it a "White suprmacist" sign. You'll know it - thumb & fore-finger in a circle, other fingers erect.
Anyway, I shook my head & indicated "I'm OK".
After a couple of repetitions the poor bloke replied, in sign:-
"Not you, ME!" and mimed shivering.
At this juncture I'll point out he was in a full wetsuit wrist to ankles, I was in a shortie top & bottom.
On the surface I found all us foreigners layed out on the deck catching rays & harvesting viramin D like it was going out of fashion.
All the local lads/instructors were in zip-up fleeces and the like.

It was some time later the truth dawned:-
October to a Turk in Turkey is every bit as cool as October to a Brit back in Britain, poor fellows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.