The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Scramble!

Jennyg was hoping to see a blip of our front drive in the mizzle. This isn't it. After another grey, rainy day that I spent working at home, I had just finished a long phone call at just after 4pm when I looked out of the window and saw a touch of pink in the clouds above Arnside Knott. Scramble! Scramble!

I rushed down the stairs, grabbed the camera, donned the wet weather gear that I didn't need, picked up Gus, and we set off down the hill to the Arnside Pier. The sun had already gone, but there was some afterglow.

I checked to see when my first Arnside sunset was last year, it was 4 days later than this. In fact, going through last year's blips, the weather from before Christmas until about this time in January was remarkably similar, a pall of grey with drizzle.

I worked at home today to keep an eye on Gus as he continues to settle into life in the Gladders' household. Our first walk was over the Knott in darkness and rain, the second at lunchtime was in semi-darkness and rain, and our third, after this shot was taken, was along the prom to the Coastguard Station in glorious sunset colours. Gus was visibly even more happy than usual to be out exploring the coast, a whole new world of scents and sounds.

There will come a time when he can be the foreground interest for an Arnside sunset. But not yet, although he does know the meaning of "Stay", he simply won't allow himself to be separated from me if I'm on my own with him. A little bit of separation anxiety, we shall build his confidence with time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.