How I spent the morning

I didn't use all of them at once.

A selection of recipe books collected over the years. There are others. I know almost anything is available online these days and I often look recipes up. Especially when I've got a selection of odd ingredients to use. You can always find something and it usually turns out ok. But I do like my books.

On the shelf is an an ancient copy of the renowned Glasgow Cookery Book in which I could have followed instructions for Dressed Sheep's Head, Kidney Omlette or Curried Mutton. But I didn't go down that road today contenting myself with banana loaf, cheese scones, apple and plum crumble and leek bake. And to be honest I didn't really need the books for those.

I wish I knew where mum's Good Housekeeping Cookery Book went. It's not the recipes but the additions and annotations that are good to have. I've added Walnut Brownies to the back flyleaf of the Glasgow Cookery Book but I'm positive I've never made them. One day maybe.

Miserable weather today. Too many visiting spiders. Even one's too many for me so today's invasion has been horrific. Someone came to service the boiler so we're ok for the winter fingers crossed. I'm off on Community Council business this afternoon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.