WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Tropical

Well, it was our first day, 28C, no wind, so of course we had to go to Cantarrijan for lunch. We did a big shop at Mercadona first. Did I mention that yesterday I somehow mangled a toe on my dodgy foot by standing on tiptoe? Sigh. Today I could once again only hobble. But lying on the beach was a pleasure, especially with a large Spanish G&T as an apero, and I took the doctor's advice and both swam and walked in the sea.

Lunch: I still haven't got my head around Spanish restaurant service. We were still eating our favourite starter, ensalada tropical, when our waitress appeared with our main course pescado a la plancha, telling us that the fish was so fresh that it had cooked more quickly than expected, so we had to eat it now. We duly did, then finished the salad and considered sharing a dessert. But after half an hour vainly trying to make this happen, we gave up and returned to our sunloungers. We'll bring a picnic next time!

Home, jamon and pan con tomate for dinner. Mystère had been refreshing his memories of his garden kingdom. He seemed quite relieved when we returned, and is now crashed out on the sofa. My toe is so painful I've been lying on the sofa with an ice pack again. Hopefully it will be better tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.