The weather this morning was accurately described by MWIS as 'drenching', so I went to Penrhyn Castle. I've never been there before and I'm not really into old furniture, but the mass of intricately carved stone was wonderful!  

When my parents wanted to buy a cottage at the foot of the Dinorwig slate tips in the late 1960s, I can remember us all waiting in the car while Dad visited the Penrhyn Estate Office to make enquiries. 

The weather brightened after lunch and I walked down the old A5 from the youth hostel, crossing the new A5 and climbing up above it before descending and rejoining the original track. The two smaller photos are from the walk, one of both roads on either side of the valley, the other of a couple of Carnedds from my highest point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.