09102019

Neighbours

"noun
plural noun: neighbours
a person living next door to or very near to the speaker or person referred to.
"our garden was the envy of the neighbours"
a person or place in relation to others next or near to it.
"I chatted with my neighbour on the flight to New York"
any person in need of one's help or kindness (after biblical use).
"love thy neighbour as thyself"


verb
3rd person present: neighbours
(of a place or object) be situated next to or very near (another).
"the square neighbours the old quarter of the town"

That's Maria's guests (she's letting her place for holidaymakes) and then there's Roger (the bar owner where I consume the cocktails) watching tv. Very different approach to the open window. Maria has covered it inside with a screen of some sort and Roger keeps it open. (We have a curtain that I can pull to get cover. But from the scorching sun during the summer! Not from nosy neighbors.

The Welsh ladies left back to Cardiff today. Denise's mum's s spouse is near death in the hospital (he's 90 and very ill) so they had to make quick return. They had planned to be here until the house is sold legally, so Denise had made food to their freezer so when they get everything ready in the new house uphill, they have food in the freezer to make life easier. Now they needed to empty the house completely. It's ready for the new owner. Guess who inherited the food? ME!!!! US!!!!!

So today we had fantastic beef curry made by Chef Denise. We also have vegetable curry and lamb stew (perhaps not spelled correctly). I feel so lucky. I think I will make her an apron as a thank you. And I will collect all the containers (cleaned) to a bag that I will also give her.

Even if they only move uphill, I can no longer just pop by and see if their home. Every time needs to be planned! And I will miss them terribly. They are one of the kindest people I've ever know and such good conversationalists. I always enjoy my time with them.

Well. Life goes on. And we'll still see each others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.