Arromanches

We packed up and left the nice little gite we rented in Deauville or Benerville-sur-Mer which was the actual location, amid some very old and expensive houses. Our place was owned by an artist, who lived upstairs. The artwork in my extra may or may not be her derriere,  I couldn't say but if it is, it was probably a few years ago.

Our journey took us west and we stopped at Houlgate for coffee. We decided that place was a bit up its own derriere. €7.50 for two grande cafes, which were very small and I think they were the most expensive we've had in the whole trip. We decided to go to Arromanches for lunch and once there we found a restaurant close to the beach where there was a car park. The beach was of course code named 'Gold Beach' for some of the British troops landing on D-Day - 75 years ago.

We had a nice lunch only spoilt a little by a woman with an American accent telling her friend all about Brexit. Now I know there are knowalls with many different languages, most of which I don't understand and I don't mean to offend my many blip friends from the USA. When they left their table after the meal, the talker went to to the toilet and her quiet friend stopped by our table. Marian confided that we were British and we didn't have a clue what was going on! She said her friend was 'very strong' in her opinions. Very wrong too, Marian suggested. I didn't stop to blip the beach at Arromanches. Apart from some bits of concrete it wasn't very different and despite its important history, not particularly attractive.

The unusually styled church in my blip was not in Arromanches but not too far away, I can't remember the name of the village and I'm too tired to review the route we took. 

We're back home now, it's 2 am Friday morning, after the journey home from Poole ferry terminal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.