Flowering apodasmia similis

This is my garden discovery today, these gorgeous reddish flowers on the jointed rushes (apodismia). They're in the planter box and I'm looking down the northern side of my place towards the front.

I've knocked off a morning of exercise, a bit of housework, and time in the garden this afternoon. It's been a day where I had loads of energy. I welcomed the physical and mental battle of spin's intensity this morning. Somehow it didn't completely wreck me for pump where I even pulled off a number of full press ups.

I had a bit of downtime with my book before I cracked on into the afternoon. I've added gypsum to parts where the soil is heavy and wet for a chunk of the year, and a clay pan lurks beneath. Time will tell if I've lost a horopito.

The 3 bargain phormiums I got yesterday are planted. Each is about 40cm high and were in 1-2L sized pots. To give you an idea of how stony it is when I start digging, I have a full bucket of stones and rocks, another 13kg to liberate to the Selwyn river.

I've nipped off the leaves on the nectarine and peach trees infected with leaf curl, then spayed both with seaweed. That will be a work in progress for a while.

Establishing a garden is a long process and a labour of love.

Today's gratitude: For the fun and good mood gained from this morning's exercise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.