13102019

We had a nice half day at the beach. The boys are collecting seashells in the middle of the picture.

We saw the soccoristas (lifeguards) run with their equipment and they were away for a long time. I'd say about 45 minutes at least. When we left from the beach and walk along the shore towards the area where we parked our car, we saw that there was a covered body on the beach with two police officers and a grieving widow and friend. I think here they do not move the body until a hearse arrives.

That was quite a sight. I just can't get it out of my mind. I think it was a heart attack or other medical situation. I believe if it had been drowning they would have told people to get out of the water just to be safe (so there's no undercurrents or such).

Can't also stop thinking about the two about 20-year-old lifeguards who went for the rescue. They had someone die in their hands today. And they are so young. I hope they get good debriefing after the incident.

The day was so beautiful and there were lots of people on the beach. People just continued their day around the body.

I'm glad the boys left with their parents from the closer boardwalk so they didn't have to see that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.